TV FOR CHANGE

Newsletter

Tuesday, August 02, 2005

In Africa, conservation and development aren’t always compatible

Can nature be preserved to the detriment of local populations? The answer is definitely “no”. Then how could social and economic development cohabit with nature and wildlife conservation?

dev.tv carried an investigation in the Republic of Congo-Brazzaville and Kenya, the result of which was shown in the BBC programme Earth Report under the title : “Among the Hotspots”.

Broadcast dates and times for BBC World were:

First screening : Friday, 22 July at 19.30 GMT (21.30 CET)

Re-runs :
Saturday, 23 July at 05.30 GMT (07.30 CET)
Sunday, 24 July at 00.30 GMT (02.30 CET)
Monday, 25 July at 09.30 GMT (11.30 CET)
Tuesday, 26 July at 16.30 GMT (18.30 CET)
Wednesday, 27 July at 01.30 GMT (03.30 CET) and 07.30 GMT (09.30 CET)

“Among the Hotspots” is also to be broadcast on other TV channels worldwide (please check their TV listings and websites for exact dates and times) :

BBC 1 / UK
BBC NEWS 24 / UK
BTV-8 / CHINA
CCTV / CHINA
NTV / NEPAL
IMC / NEPAL
KANTIPUR TV / NEPAL
BESU CABLE / NEPAL
PTV / PAKISTAN
SEC / PAKISTAN
CHANNEL EYE / SRI LANKA
BBS / BUTHAN
NETV / INDIA
CHANNEL 21 / CAMBOGE
VTV / VIETNAM